About

HYTAC – Hybrid Techniques for Architecture Design

Hybrid Techniques for Architecture Design or HYTAC for short, is a teaching unit of the D-ARCH-ETHZürich, that identifies and re-imagines technologies with the aim of integrating them into the heart of the architectural design process.

We take several modelling software programs, and different technologies, stripe everything complicated about them and repackage them in a way that feels as natural as pen and paper for architects. The HYTAC unit started as a bottom up initiative with the goal of maximizing the efficiency of the architecture design process by using technologies found on the fringes of or foreign to the branch.

In the fall semester of 2019 HYTAC founded the 3DLab, thus cementing a new workflow method for all first year students.

We now offer a compulsory seminar week for the first-year students, as well as an elective class, and collaborations with interested Chairs throughout the Department.

Jonathan Benhamu

Architekt ENSAPLV SIA
Dozent D-ARCH ETHZ
ETH Zürich D-ARCH
HIL G47
Stefano-Franscini-Platz 5
8091 Zürich
benhamu@arch.ethz.ch
+41 78 611 05 93

Architekt ENSAPLV SIA Dozent D-ARCH ETH. Architect practicing in Switzerland for over 12 years. Jonathan is the Director of BENARICI GmbH, an architecture office focused on multi-team international collaborations and avant-garde design processes. After 3 years working as a teaching assistant at the Chair of Professor Andrea Deplazes at the ETH University in Zurich, he is now also a Dozent at the Department of Architecture in the “Hybrid Techniques for Architecture Design” teaching unit.

Jonathan is committed to creating simple workflows that bring analogue design processes and emerging technologies together.


Team

Martin Roesch
roesch@arch.ethz.ch

Nicola Graf
graf@student.ethz.ch

Max Meier
maxmeier@student.ethz.ch

Aaron Wahl
aawahl@student.ethz.ch

Magdalena Haslinger
haslinger@arch.ethz.ch

Former Team Members

Daniel Epprecht
Helia Hamshidi
Tobias Peteler
Marin Lercher
Rino Sogno


Imprint

All Rights Reserved

ETH Zürich
Eidgenösische Technische Hochschule Zürich
ethz.ch

D-ARCH
Departement Architektur arch.ethz.ch

About

HYTAC – Hybrid Techniques for Architecture Design

Hybrid Techniques for Architecture Design oder abgekürzt HYTAC, ist eine Lehreinheit des D-ARCH an der ETH Zürich, welche zum Ziel hat, aufkommende Technologien in den architektonischen Entwurfsprozesses miteinzubeziehen.

Wir bauen alles Komplizierte von Modellbausoftwares und anderen Technologien ab, und gestalten sie für den Gebrauch der ArchitektInnen so um, dass es sich so natürlich anfühlt wie die Arbeit mit Stift und Papier. Die HYTAC Einheit begann als eine Bottom-Up Initiative mit dem Ziel, die Effizienz des architektonischen Entwurfsprozesses zu maximieren, indem man neueste Technologien benutzt, die sich noch nicht etabliert haben. 

Im Herbstsemester 2019 gründete HYTAC das 3DLAB. Somit verfestigte sich eine neue Arbeitsmethode im Lehrplan für alle Studierende des D-ARCH.

Wir bieten eine besuchspflichtige Seminarwoche für Erstjahresstudierende an, ein Wahlfach und Kollaborationen mit interessierten Professuren des Departements. 

Jonathan Benhamu

Architekt ENSAPLV SIA
Dozent D-ARCH ETHZ
ETH Zürich Campus Hönggerberg D-ARCH
HIL G47
Stefano-Franscini-Platz 5
8091 Zürich
benhamu@arch.ethz.ch
+41 78 611 05 93

Architekt ENSAPLV SIA Dozent D-ARCH ETH. Arbeitet in der Schweiz als Architekt seit über 12 Jahren. Jonathan ist der Direktor der BENHARICI GmbH , eine Architekturfirma die sich auf avant – garde Designprozesse und internationale multi – team Kollaborationen spezialisiert. Nach 3 Jahren als Lehrassistent zur Professur Deplazes an der ETH Universitat Zurich, ist er nun Dozent and der Departement Architektur in der “Hybrid Techniques for Architecture Design” Lehreinheit. Jonathan engagiert sich um simple Arbeitsabläufe zu kreieren, und um analoge Designprozesse mit neuen Technologien zu verbinden.


Team

Martin Roesch
roesch@arch.ethz.ch

Nicola Graf
graf@student.ethz.ch

Max Meier
maxmeier@student.ethz.ch

Aaron Wahl
aawahl@student.ethz.ch

Magdalena Haslinger
haslinger@arch.ethz.ch

Ehemalige Teammitglieder:

Daniel Epprecht
Helia Hamshidi
Tobias Peteler
Marin Lercher
Rino Sogno


Imprint

All Rights Reserved
ETH Zürich
Eidgenösische Technische Hochschule Zürich
ethz.ch

D-ARCH
Departement Architektur
arch.ethz.ch